Recent Searches

Prison Island and Nakupenda Sandbank | Full-day + Lunch buffet

star-4.59 Reviews
Stone Town, Tanzania
Prison Island and Nakupenda Sandbank | Full-day + Lunch buffet

From $81.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon6 to 8 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Air-conditioned vehicle
Private transportation
Admission Fee at Prison Island (10,000 TZS/ 4USD)

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick up from any Hotel/ Accommodation located in Zanzibar.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY The Sultan Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Prison Island and Nakupenda Sandbank | Full-day + Lunch buffet?
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Prison Island and Nakupenda Sandbank | Full-day + Lunch buffet.

Traveler Photos


9 Reviews
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1 of 9 reviews
Terrible service and fraud
, Nov 2020
Me and my mum booked this tour on our last day in Stone Town. We have been met by a guide at 9 am in our hotel, but unfortunately it was a thunderstorm with torrential rain. We have asked the guide what to do, and got back that let’s wait for an hour - the rain will stop. At 10am the rain hasn’t stopped and we have been told to wait for 1 more hour. At 11 am it was still raining with the whole sky grey, I asked what’s the plan? As the sandbank would disappear soon due to the tide coming in. No answer was given and then the owner Ahmed called and I asked if it is possible to get the refund for the trip due to poor weather conditions. On the phone Ahmed said that he would refund all money and I agreed to it. Later in the evening I texted him and he said he wouldn’t refund anything. He said via tour is having 25% (why has via tour charged me for the tour that hasn’t happened??) and then 40% goes on food which was bought - but they haven’t even offered us to give this food back - instead they kept it all and lied that they will refund money. In summary, don’t trust this operator, as they lie to you and don’t care about customer experience. There are a lot of nice companies in Zanzibar, which you can book the tour with instead for better value.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
We take every booking seriously and always being on time. Our guide arrived on time you requested that you want to go at 11:00 a.m instead. Than later you told us you have other plans and you want to cancel. Us we try our best to be more reliable and transparency and our client satisfaction is our main priority.

Compare Similar Experiences

Prison Island and Nakupenda Sandbank | Full-day + Lunch buffet
Prison Island and Nakupenda Sandbank | Full-day + Lunch buffet


6 to 8 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 day

Free Cancellation



5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do