Recent Searches
Clear

Zambezi River Class IV-V White-Water Rafting from Victoria Falls

|
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Zambezi River Class IV-V White-Water Rafting from Victoria Falls

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon7 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Paddle down the Zambezi River on a 14-mile (23-kilometer) whitewater rafting course from Victoria Falls. With a guide, maneuver over Class IV and V rapids in a gorge reaching depths of 650 feet (198 meters) in the heart of Zimbabwe’s wilderness. Your tour includes lunch, open bar, and round-trip hotel transport.
  • 14-mile (23-kilometer) course with options for intermediate to advanced passengers
  • Class IV and V rapids present year-round
  • Enjoy a buffet lunch including drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from Victoria Falls included
Saved to wishlist!
All rafting gear (helmet, life jacket, and paddle)
Local guide
Light refreshments during rafting
Lunch
Unlimited drinks (open bar)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
National Park entrance fee ($10 per person)
DVD (available to purchase)
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Victoria Falls , Victoria Falls, Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.We do pick from any hotel reception in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Begin your adventure with morning pickup from your hotel in Victoria Falls. Enjoy a light breakfast of toast with coffee or tea, and then climb into a Jeep for a drive to the Zambezi River.

Upon arrival, gear up in a provided life jacket, helmet, and windbreaker (if needed), and go through a full safety and instructional briefing before hiking down the steep gorge to the river banks. Depending on your group’s abilities, you will either complete the 14-mile course (23-kilometer) in an oar raft controlled completely by your guide, a stern-mount raft controlled by passengers and the guide, or a paddle raft where everyone paddles under your guide’s watchful eyes.

Passengers who visit during low-water season from August through December can expect Class IV or V rapids throughout the journey, while those who visit in the high-water season from mid-January through March and June through July may clip some rapids and overall distance for safety reasons. Please note that due to fluctuating water levels, rafting operations may cease in April and May.

At the end of your trip, make the steep climb out of the gorge — an open bar and barbecue lunch reward your effort at the top. After lunch, return to your hotel.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No age restriction as long the child can swim, weighs at least 50 lbs (23 kg), fits in a Class 5 youth life jacket, and has a parent's permission; if weight is less than 50 lbs, he or she can only do Level 3 rapids and must skip the Level 5 rapids (this will also depend on the guide's decision on which rapids or sections your child can do)
  • Please make sure to wear a T-shirt, shorts, and proper shoes for rafting and hiking up and down the canyon
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY SHOCKWAVE ADVENTURES
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The climb back up is very difficult - slippy and steep." See review
  • "The raft has a guide and instructor who made the whole trip feasible." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
112 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-4 of 112 reviews
star-5
Fabulous experience
Beverley_T
, Feb 2020
Fabulous experience. Guides were great, we were well looked after. But this trip is for the fit and well. The climb down the gorge is not easy. The rafting is an absolute blast. Let the guide know if you don’t want to capsize - other rafts did but we didn’t. The climb back up is very difficult - slippy and steep. Great fun!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hie Beverly Thank you so much for giving us a five bubble review and recommending us to the world of travelers.We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the services of our guides and of course the hike in and out of the gorge and requires a certain level of fitness but hey its Africa , no hurry you just take your time.All in all we are just overwhelmed to hear you had great fun rafting with us Hope to see you again Regards
star-5
One of the highlights of our trip
225jeremyg
, Nov 2019
This was a very well organized experienced, with a great team of people making sure we had a good time. The raft has a guide and instructor who made the whole trip feasible. When we signed up for rafting, I was worried what we were getting ourselves into. I hadn't gone rafting in over 15 years, and never did more than class 2 rapids. Here, with just an intro, we could go miles down the Zambezi, over class 5 rapids. Although our raft never flipped and no one fell out, we got to jump in and swim part of the river. Combined with some hiking down and up to and from the river, this was one of our most enjoyable experiences in southern Africa.
star-2
Rafting was cancelled with lot of...
TOSHIRO I
, Jul 2017
Rafting was cancelled with lot of water. so It was changed to raft , but dull. It would be better what raft is.
star-5
Was a great experience, OG our guide...
stokkerman
, Jul 2017
Was a great experience, OG our guide made sure we didn't topple our boat as we asked him not to. Got to swim in the river as well. This was a lot of fun and appropriate for whole family including inexperienced rafters this was our fourth rafting trip.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Zambezi River Class IV-V White-Water Rafting from Victoria Falls
Zambezi River Class IV-V White-Water Rafting from Victoria Falls

star-5112

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.00

star-5100

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$140.00

star-4.560

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-51

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$175.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$143.59

star-4.56

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$123.08

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$210.00

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.00

star-5140

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.93

Explore Similar Things to Do