Recent Searches
Clear

Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour

star-3.5195 Reviews
|
Savannah, United States
Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Take a spooky stroll through Savannah, one of the most haunted cities in the US, on this guided ghost walking tour. Choose from one of two evening departure times and travel through the shadowy squares of the Savannah Historic District, one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US. Learn about local legends, house hauntings — even the occasional exorcism — plus Gullah traditions and superstitions, some of which are still practiced today. It’s a fascinating, spine-tingling adventure.
  • Walking ghost tour of Savannah
  • Enjoy a guided night walk through the Savannah historic district
  • Hear spooky tales and legends from the past and present
  • Knowledgeable guide
  • Learn of old Gullah traditions and superstitions, some of which are still in practice to this day

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour combines stories of slaves with Savannah's sinister past for an extra-spooky anthropology lesson.
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hear about other spine tingling tales
Explore the most Haunted City in America
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Johnson Square , Johnson Square, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

Departure Point: Historic District North Address: Johnson Square (Congress and Bull Streets) Dates: Daily

This activity will end right where it started.
Choose from one of two evening departure times, then begin this ghost walking tour of the Savannah Historic District begins at Johnson Square, a small, stately park featuring a historic monument, benches, pathways, fountains and shade trees.

The Savannah Historic District was the center of colonial government in the 1700s. It was where the first reading of the Declaration of Independence took place in Georgia. Much of the town’s historically significant buildings are located here, in one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US.

Why is Savannah so superstitious? And why is it considered one of the most haunted cities in America? Find out from the knowledgeable local guide on this tour.

Take a twilight stroll beneath the moss covered trees of Savannah’s shadowy squares and learn about local legends, house hauntings (even the occasional house exorcism), plus the old Gullah traditions and superstitions, some of which are still practiced today.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wear comfortable shoes
  • Pets welcome
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Savannah Walks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
195 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 195 reviews
star-1
There’s always next time
Jacqueline_R
, May 2022
Our tour was cancelled the day of and we were leaving the next day so we missed out on going. We were offered tickets for next time and then said we would be refunded in a few days so we’ll see………I wouldn’t NOT recommend them based on our experience cause I’m sure if we were able to go, it would have been just great.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for the review but it makes no sense. We were forced to cancel the tour due to strong thunderstorms in the area. We issued you a refund and offered you complimentary tickets to use anytime in the future since you were not able to reschedule the tour during your stay. You would not recommend our tour based on what? The disappointment you had because we had to cancel the tour due to thunderstorms in the area and safety concerns?
star-5
Better Than the Others!
Rob_M
, Mar 2022
Extremely knowledgeable and provided visual examples to support theories/stories. Upon waiting, a rep from a competing tour noted that this tour isn’t reputable (assuming because they don’t stand in the square for hours in costume). After passing the other tours many times and overhearing some of their content vs our tour, I highly recommend The Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour if your looking to learn!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you so much for the review! We’ve been giving the Paranormal Ghost tour since 1995 and we’re the second oldest ghost tour downtown Savannah. We have been copied by other tours for years but we’ve perfected the ghost tour. We don’t wear costumes. We don’t need them!!!
star-1
Our tour was canceled due...
Robert_S
, Mar 2022
Our tour was canceled due to the illness of your staff. I understand this happens, but this left us scrambling to find another tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
We are terribly sorry the tour had to be cancelled and it left you scrambling to find another tour. Our guide started developing a high fever that afternoon and was vomiting and it left little time to find a replacement guide. We could have sent him out anyway but that wouldn’t have been the best course of action. We’re sorry it ruined your evening but we’re also questioning how it deserves a bad review.
star-1
Avoid this tour!
Jodie_H
, Feb 2022
Tour was not very good. Tour guide was soft spoken and hard to hear, didn't communicate the details about each location very well and didn't seem to have a lot of knowledge on the subjects. Would not recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hello! I know there are quite a few ghost tours in Savannah and not all of them are Travel Channel favorites like ours is. We have no record of you ever taking our tour. We’re afraid you left a review for the wrong tour company.
star-2
Needs work
April_T
, Nov 2021
The locations were interesting and the length of the tour was nice but the tour guide was not professional. There was confusion as to what tour we had booked since the name of it he didn't even fully know. If you lead a group you should know the full name of the tour advertised and announce that so your participants have confidence they are with the right group. He was about 5 mins late so all of the participants were wondering if we were at the right spot. He was easy going and made good eye contact & conversation but he needs more confident delivery and professionalism.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour! The other guests on the tour left reviews about how much they enjoyed the tour. In addressing your concerns, due to city ordinances, guides are not allowed to hold signs or announce the names of the tours. Your guide called the roll upon his arrival, and you verified you were present, and that’s how we have started this tour for the past 25 years. It’s a system that works very well. In regard to being 5 minutes late, your guide was 10 minutes early. He was standing off to the side waiting for another tour group to leave the area. All in all, his delivery, professionalism and tour content was very good for a busy Thanksgiving holiday weekend.
star-4
Spooky and informative!
Kerri_S
, Nov 2021
Got to share experience with some really cool people! Tour guide was great and had a little story to tell about each stop. He made it fun!! Would recommend!!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you for your kind review! The ghost tour can be a difficult tour to give but we are delighted it was a home run!!
star-1
I have read others’...
Andrea_T
, Nov 2021
I have read others’ reviews and it seems if you did have a bad experience you are attacked online and scolded into thinking you actually had fun. Our tour guide was obviously high on something. That observation was made by another gentleman on the tour we did not know. The guide never introduced himself and seemed to fumble for thoughts and words. He gave VERY LITTLE insight into hauntings or paranormal experiences. He seriously was not THERE. He was distracted easily and often commented on dogs, traffic, and the railroad tracks. He was by no means rude or offensive, just disengaged and uninformative. There were two other couples on the tour and when the guide left each was speaking about his being “on something.” One couple tried to leave early but gave up when the guide said there was only one more stop. Will not recommend this specific tour to anyone even if you bully my review online. Terrible tour according to two member of our group who have done this tour in Savannah before, one actually lives here and told me I should demand my money back. I will not do that. Instead, use those funds for proper guide training. So very disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We are sorry to hear you didn’t have a good time on the ghost tour. Unlike a history tour, ghost tours require an openness to the spirit world and a keen attention paid to the guide as they strategically navigate you through the historic district. Out of curiosity, we inquired and polled the other 26 guests that were on your tour and the overwhelming majority found the experience fascinating! We do hope you are able to find a ghost tour in the future that meets your specific expectations!
star-1
Bummer wasted time
Janet_R
, Oct 2021
What should have been a fun experience, was unimaginably boring. The guide may have been knowledgeable about history, but was reciting a script that he wasn’t into. I hope he was new to this work, and will learn how to engage his audience in the future.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
You never actually took the tour. You left five minutes into the tour. That’s a shame. You missed the best part since y’all decided to drink instead. Shameful.
star-4
Great fun for a walking tour
Michael_S
, Oct 2021
Fun guide, crowded route. Enjoyed the stories and seeing the haunted homes at night. The parks are really cool in the evening but the downside is there were heavy crowds. Consider Halloween time to be peak season for this type of tour.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind review! It gets busy on the weekend and your guide did his best to spotlight the most interesting and most haunted places in Savannah!
star-4
Great experience
Lori_V
, Oct 2021
Our guide was very knowledgeable! He was just a sweetheart! He really engaged with us and asked about our trip and where we were from!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for the kind review about our ghost tour! Sometimes we wonder what people are looking for in a 1.5 hour ghost tour! In some instances their expectations are very unrealistic!
star-2
Not the Best
Lauren_H
, Oct 2021
The guide showed up 10 minutes late. Other guides there said he was always late. He didn’t seemed enthused or very engaging. There was some interesting history included, but I would pick a different group next time.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
On a busy Saturday night, the guides needs a few minutes to get back to the square after their earlier tour. The guide was not enthused or engaging? What does that mean? It’s a paranormal ghost tour and it appears everyone, all 28 guests, enjoyed the tour but you.
star-3
Will try another company for ghost tour
Terry_F
, Sep 2021
We arrived on time but the others in our group did not, the tour guide waited about 30 minutes before we started, it seemed like a lot of what the guide was sharing was in the fly and elaborated for the tour for just us. Also almost got into an altercation with a motorist in the street, not professional. Overall disappointing, some info was interesting
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Your guide followed all protocol for a ghost tour on a busy and crowded Saturday night. Even when dealing with the guy who raced his engine at the intersection when y’all were crossing the street. Your guide has been recognized as one of the best of the best of storytellers by TravelHost magazine. He did wait 10 min extra to ensure all guests were able to find parking and arrive for the tour. There was a party of 8 that were just a few minute late due to a dinner reservation running late. We are sure you understand.
star-5
Great Guide!
Peter_F
, Aug 2021
Our guide was very knowledgeable, when a car would approach as he speaking he would either stop speaking or raise his voice in order for everyone to be able to hear what he was saying… We learned many fascinating facts about Savannah!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for the kind review!! We certainly hope you have the opportunity to visit the city again!!
star-5
Awesome!
Cassandra_M
, Aug 2021
This was an awesome experience!! Learned a lot of interesting historical information! If you're into the halloweny theatrical stuff this isn't for you. But if you're a history buff like me and love learning historical facts that, in this case, are linked to tragedy that has left its mark then this is right up your alley!! The fact it was dark added to the mystery of the stories!! The tour guide was knowledgeable and interactive. Highly recommend!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you!!!
star-1
Guide was late and seriously lacking
Marla_P
, Aug 2021
Guide was late to arrive, seemed to know very little. While waiting for late guide we listened to other tour guides. This guy was completely un trained and uninformed. Just awful, will not recommend. For $100, you all have to do WAY better than this.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello! Thank you for the review Your guide has 12 years experience in the field of paranormal activity and has given tours in Savannah for 10 years. He has been a Travel Channel favorite for 5 years and he wasn’t late for the tour. He was looking for your party so you wouldn’t miss the tour. As you recall, your party was in the wrong meeting location. Which isn’t hard to do on a busy Saturday night. We aren’t sure what your expectations are for a ghost tour. It appears there are many. I was shadowing this very tour and I, like all the other guests on the tour, can assure everyone that it is an amazing tour.
star-5
Spooky and very interesting Ghost tour
Kristina_P
, Jul 2021
The guide was very knowledgeable and told the stories well. All of the locations were very interesting and we were very excited to learn and see all that we did. All the spooky details were great. The walk was easy and leisurely. We would highly recommend this tour to our friends and family. Thank you for the awesome experience!!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We are delighted to hear you had a great time on the Ghost tour! The spookier the better we believe!!
star-4
Nice Tour on the Fly
Nancy_P
, Jul 2021
Nice tour. Entertained teens - hard to do. Guide was a long term local w/ several interesting tales.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the nice review! Our guides try to make the ghost tour both factual and very entertaining.
star-4
Good but the guide was late
Liz_K
, Jul 2021
The guide had very interesting stories. I enjoyed the tour, but the tour guide was about 20 minutes late.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the review. Upon further investigation we found out that your guide was not late. In fact, your party was waiting for the tour in the wrong place in the square. Once we were able to get your group to the proper meeting location, the guide started the tour 20 minutes late.
star-1
Boring, slow.
Bobby_A
, Jul 2021
We are only saying this to help with others experiences. Our guides was a few minutes late/ or arrived at 7:30 depending on whose time was looked at. He did not have a badge or anything to identify himself. He was quiet spoken, hard to hear and understand. At times he seemed he could not remember what to say. The tour was boring! We took a tour here many years ago and the tour guide was exciting and it made it fun. We waited for a group that did not not show so we started 15 minutes late, and finished 15 minutes early. He was not enthusiastic.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the review. Your guide arrived at the sundial at 7:25pm. Some guests were late due to parking and Uber issues but the guides waited and tried his best to accommodate everyone. Even the guest who had a dinner reservation run long and was a few minutes late. All in all, a typical Saturday night in July. Your guide started the tour with his badge clipped to the hem of his shirt. Out for everyone to see. The tour is a Paranormal Ghost. tour for those interested in the supernatural and how the supernatural applies to Savannah’s rich history. It appears you were looking for a high energy guide able to put on a show. We have always reserved that for the nighttime trolley tours!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Scam tour
Paul_G
, Jul 2021
The tour was a big disappointment. Our tour guide was over 10 minutes late and still ended the tour in about an hour. Historical details were vague and seemed like most narrative was ad lib.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We made a point to contact every guest that was on this tour and found out that everyone had a fantastic time but apparently you. The tour was 1.5 hours in length and covered the entire ghost tour. He also did his very best to let everyone know he would be a few minutes late due to a quick parking issue.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Haunted Savannah Paranormal Ghost Tour

star-3.5195

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5487

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$36.80

star-5219

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-4.5301

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5304

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-4.5149

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-4.550

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$26.49

star-425

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-524

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations