Recent Searches
Clear

Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour

|
New Orleans, United States
Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Delve into the history of slavery and the plantations of Louisiana on this small-group tour from New Orleans. Drive past Lake Pontchartrain and the Mississippi River to the Whitney Plantation’s Louisiana Museum of Slavery. Learn about the lives of the enslaved people who worked there and on plantations throughout the South during a tour of the museum and restored buildings. Next, head to the Creole-style St Joseph Plantation for a tour of the working sugar plantation where the movie ’12 Years A Slave’ was filmed.
  • Self-guided tour to the Louisiana Museum of Slavery on the Whitney Plantation and St Joseph Plantation, from New Orleans
  • See authentically restored buildings and memorial artwork at the Louisiana Museum of Slavery
  • Listen to slave narratives that detail daily life for slaves on the plantation
  • Drive through the sugar cane fields of St Joseph Plantation, a working sugar plantation that dates to 1877
  • Take a guided tour of St Joseph Plantation, often led by a member of the family that owns the property
  • Learn about the making of the Oscar-winning film ’12 Years A Slave’ at St Joseph Plantation
  • Hear informative commentary from your guide about the region during the drive from New Orleans
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off, with exact pick up time provided
Live commentary on board
Gratuities
This tour does NOT include a meal, Snacks and drinks available for purchase
Professional Driver/guide

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

11:00 AM
Please specify hotel at time of purchase. We pick up in New Orleans at any hotel, Bed & Breakfast or select Airbnbs, uptown (close to St. Charles Ave.), in (or close to) the French Quarter, and on the Westbank. We do not pick up by the airport, in New Orleans East, in Slidell, or on the North Shore. Supplier will contact you the day before your tour to give you an exact pick up time.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • On Tuesdays, Whitney Plantation is closed and replaced by Laura Plantation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tours by Isabelle
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I was hesitant to take the tour being a black women but it was worth it." See review
  • "This is great tour to do if you plan on going to New Orleans." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
59 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
star-5
Need to to this tour
lana_y
, Jul 2022
The tour was fantastic! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, patient, and funny. The plantation is beautiful, the history is really impressive. My heart could feel the pain and suffering of those as if they were still there. I would highly recommend the Whitney Plantation.
star-5
Essential visit.
Karend
, Apr 2022
Essential tour with historical accounts of slavery. Very moving and educational. Our driver/guide Elena was very helpful and knowledgeable. The guide for the Josephine plantation was also very well versed on the history and accounts of that plantation. The size of the group was just right as well. It was personable and detailed.
star-5
NOLA visit 2022
Jesse_B
, Apr 2022
The van, time and schedule of tours, tour options and the guide were all comfortable, convenient and informative. I enjoyed learning of New Orleans and the people that shaped its history. I will definitely recommend securing a tour with this tour when visiting the big easy.
star-5
Very Informative Tour
Peggy_D
, Feb 2022
The entire experience was very interesting, informative and well managed. The tour guide from Isabelle's Tours, was charming, knowledgeable and organized. The two plantations were especially interesting, especially Whitney. Anyone interested in the real history of the plantation era in the south should absolutely take this tour.
star-5
Excellent trip. Isabel is...
Karen_B
, Feb 2022
Excellent trip. Isabel is very knowledgeable and a great resource if information about New Orleans. She is also very organized and communicates well. I highly recommend this trip!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much Ms Karen, it was a pleasure to give you your Half-day Plantation & airboat tour, and you had such great questions! Please come back soon to NOLA! Isabelle C.
star-5
Spring Break
Carlan_M
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was the so patient, kind and knowledgeable! I highly suggest using this company if you are considering touring. Whitney plantation was so REAL , so RAW! Covid 19 guidelines adhered to! Went with teenagers and they loved it and were engaged in excursion! Thank you
star-5
Awakening
Shantae_C
, Aug 2021
Love the stories and the ability to really showcase the history and challenges that the enslaved had to go through! History should never be forgotten or erased!
star-5
Humbling experience.
Jaelah_H
, Aug 2021
My group and I truly enjoyed ourselves with the tours of the plantation. The Whitney plantation was very humbling and sorrowful. It was well needed to see how my ancestors lived and so forth. The St. Joseph tour gave in-site of the lives of the master while the Whitney plantation gave in-site of the slaves and their lives. Very educational. John was an excellent guide and very friendly. Many laughs and good vibes. John was very informative and a true southern gentleman. He was punctual on arriving and departing. The van was clean, rode smooth, and was comfortable. I would recommend this tour to everyone.
star-3
Late bus but good tour
Menda_D
, Jun 2021
We went to the St. John plantation first. I was disappointed about how late it was when I got to the St. John Plantation. The guide had to rush to the tour and we were not able to go to the slave quarters on the plantation and things were just to rushed. The Whitney Plantation was amazing. I loved how every was able to move at their own pace and hear the plantation on their own devices (phones). Make sure you bring hearing wear (headphones, earbuds).
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you Ms Menda for your review. We are so glad you found Whitney Plantation to be amazing and not rushed! Indeed, we pride ourselves on being punctual, however safety is first and foremost...we were delayed that day by very heavy downpours which caused us to arrive 30 minutes behind schedule at the 1st Plantation! Since the last entry allowed at Whitney is 2:30 pm, we had to make sure to get you there in a timely manner or we could not have gotten in! We are very sorry you felt rushed during the 1st part of the tour! We love guiding visitors around our beautiful Louisiana and doing it in a SAFE way is always our priority! Thank you again for having come on our tour! Isabelle C.
star-5
Whitney Plantation Tour
Michelle_C
, Jun 2021
It was one of the best tours I have ever done . The tour guide,Giselle was wonderful ! She was very knowledgeable .The subject matter of the tour is sensitive and she was very empathetic and caring. I was hesitant to take the tour being a black women but it was worth it.
star-5
Whitney and St Joseph plantation tours
Erinn_G
, Jun 2021
Tours by Isabelle is tour company we used. Our tour guide Giselle was amazing. Both plantations that we visited gave us a real history lesson. This is great tour to do if you plan on going to New Orleans.
star-4
Emotional
qiana_l
, Nov 2020
I didn't like that your wi fi dont work u are left to visit alone so u are giving a website to down load audio . It didn't work so we was lost to take guess at what we saw
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Thank you for your review, and yes, you are 100% correct, the wi-do reception is not the best out in the country where Whitney Plantation is located and that’s why I always email as well as text every single guest, ahead of time, about the importance of downloading the Whitney app before arriving at that location. I am sorry if you didn’t receive the notice I had sent to your party on that! And I’m glad you enjoyed the rest of our plantation tour enough to give it five stars! Thank you.
star-5
St. Joseph and Whitney Plantation Tour!
Sharon_S
, Oct 2020
Great Experience! I highly recommend it. Not only did we get a tour of both plantations but Miss Isabelle was full of knowledge about the history of Louisiana and the unique terrain of the area. Loved it! Will definitely do another one when I am back next Spring!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Oh wow, this is a wonderful review. Thank you Miss Sharon, and it was truly my pleasure to share all of this information with you. We wIll be so happy to have you back in the spring.
star-4
Great day
HOPKHE_H
, Feb 2020
Loved the small group. Tour guides were amazing and knew so much Highly recommend. Especial note for Gene at Isabelle Tours he kept us informed and entertained all the way. Great knowledge and passion for his city
star-4
Important to Understand our History
pafemdr
, Feb 2020
Tour guide John Hall was great! Prompt, friendly and very well-informed about history and NOLA in general. Even told me where to find dancing where the locals go. (I did. 😁 Thanks, John). Whitney was impressive.
star-5
Beat Tour Ever!
fraziertrips3
, Feb 2020
Being black- when i visit I pay respects by doing tours of the plantations. I want to walk where they walked. It is hard to always go on tours and be guided through the “big house” and end at the mistreated slave quarters. The grief is heavy- Whitney Plantation is different- this place pays homage to the slaves. The tour guide Harriett was also a direct descendant of a sharecropper there. The Big House is being renovated so we didn’t see much- which was good for me. All the names and stories of the slaves - placed near the working fields was an experience I am glad I didn't Miss. Thank you for the time, research and the money you spent on this project. Thank you for keeping the memory alive. I will Bring my children back to see this.
4 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent Tour and Presentation
Alfrieda_G
, Jan 2020
Both tours are informational and educational albeit from different perspectives. The St. Joseph focuses on the opulent and privileged life and experience of the plantation owners whereas the Whitney Plantation illuminates the brutality of slavery and humanizes those who endured it. This tour presents two sides of the same story...the good, the bad and the shameful. It’s very well done and excellent at bringing history to life. I highly recommend both together.
star-5
Fantastic Tour
Leo_L
, Sep 2019
This tour gives an excellent overview of the era of both the wealthy plantation owners and also an insight into the way that the people were treated, it’s the best tour we’ve been in Georgia and South Carolina
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
We are so happy you found our Whitney and St Joseph Plantation tour to be 'Excellent'! This tour does highlight a painful, unsettling and uncomfortable part of American History and it is an important one to remember, indeed! Thank you. Isabelle
star-5
This is a one of a kind Plantation...
Cindy L
, Apr 2018
This is a one of a kind Plantation, a must see. Our guide did a fantastic job! Amazing place, very educational. At times the information is hard to hear, but through education we gain understanding. They've done a great job putting together content. The statues are phenomenal. They add so much feeling to what you are learning. Our guide mentioned they have a lot of school group tours. I'm so happy they are teaching real life history and not sugar coating what happened so our kids will strive to treat all people with respect and dignity.
star-4
We really enjoyed this tour, it was a...
Kristin S
, Apr 2018
We really enjoyed this tour, it was a good overview of two very different in presentation plantations. We took our two sons 16 and 11 as well. Our guide/driver was great- provided a lot of interesting details about New Orleans, how the area was impacted by Katrina, and an overview of the plantations we passed along the way. The drive was about 45 minutes each way from New Orleans. The St. Joseph plantation was a more traditional tour, with restored house, period furnishings and the plantation guide provided a lot of information on the various families that had lived there. The Whitney Plantation tour is set up to inform visitors about the enslaved people who lived on this particular plantation as well as to honor those who were slaves on neighboring and other Louisiana plantations. There are some original cabins and other working quarters here as well. Very little information exists on the individuals who were enslaved here, so this is more of a general presentation that includes the oral histories of those who were able to recount their experiences in the early 1900's. We found this tour very worthwhile and would definitely recommend it.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour
Small-Group Whitney Plantation, Museum of Slavery and St. Joseph Plantation Tour

star-559

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-4.5550

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.00

star-4.5310

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-521

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-4.591

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$78.00

star-536

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$152.00

star-53

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$200.00

star-4.5860

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$71.00

star-53

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations