Recent Searches
Clear

Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans

star-4.526 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New Orleans, United States
Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours 15 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore Louisiana’s unique history and ecology on this combo day tour from New Orleans. Travel along the oak-lined River Road to Destrehan Plantation, where you can tour the 1787 sugar plantation home, grounds and slave quarters while learning about life in the antebellum South and the site’s changing role during the Civil War. Then, venture into the bayou on a narrated swamp cruise through wild wetlands that are home to turtles, otters, snakes and famous Louisiana gators.
  • Visit the historic Destrehan Plantation, a 1787 sugar plantation listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Learn about antebellum plantation life on a tour of the restored home, grounds and an old slave cabin
  • Cruise through the wild Louisiana swamps on a narrated boat tour
  • Includes hotel pickup and drop-off from New Orleans
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup: please list hotel you are being picked up from.
Hotel drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Pickup will be between 8:15 am and 8:45 am.

Departure Time

8:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Louisiana Tour company
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "There was a minimal amount of walking or stair climbing involved (being somewhat mobility limited, I appreciated this)." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
26 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews
star-5
Everything was very well...
Julia_Y
, Jan 2022
Everything was very well organized. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time. The plantation tour was an amazing trip to the past. Swamp tour was filled with interesting information about swamp habitat. Our Capitan Reggie was amazing. He showed us alligators of different sizes. Told us interesting facts. Very educational tour for adults and kids alike. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for the five-star review, Julia!
star-1
Not good
john_k
, Jan 2022
This group tour was about the plantation owners I was very disappointed. I think the tour should be more about the people that endure the misery of slavery rather than the history of the Louisiana and a plantation owner that took advantage of and exploited people
star-4
A great tour a full day!
Kimberly_H
, Aug 2021
River boat captain was great! Plantation tour was rushed because our guide was slow! We only had five minutes to go to the next swamp tour! And get back on the bus! No time to look Around! Other than that it a great tour!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for the positive review, Kimberly!
star-5
High caliber expert guided tour
Paul_M
, Aug 2021
The local in house guides make this trip worthwhile. Lots of factual history and compelling stories. The plantation video is a little whitewashed , implying good food and lots of free time, ignoring the implicit rape and violence evidenced by the number of mullato slaves on the “owners” ledger. This rosy depiction is countered by a live tour narrative that puts the brutality and inhumanity back up front, especially around the failed 1811 slave revolt. Very worthwhile tour and remarkable documentary linkage to Jefferson and the LA land transaction.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for the feedback, Paul!
star-5
The tour guide in the destrehan plantation was just phenomenal
yanivh123
, Jul 2021
The tour guide in the destrehan plantation was just phenomenal, lots of alligators as well so was fun
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the awesome review!
star-5
New Experience
Tontalheaha_A
, Jun 2021
I never realized that there was so much history in New Orleans which is not taught in schools. My first time here but definitely not my last
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for the positive review, Tonto!
star-5
Great for the value!
Haley_S
, Apr 2021
We enjoyed the tour very much! The plantation and exhibits were beautiful and the staff were very informative and friendly. The swamp tour was very fun and a great way to see another side of Louisiana!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Thank you for the great review, Haley!
star-5
Plantation and Swamp Tour
Joel_N
, Mar 2020
The plantation tour was interesting in terms of information on the family who owned/ran the plantation as well as the buildings themselves. I most enjoyed the "trapper" who shared information on edible local plants as well as way of life for people who lived in the time period. I would have liked more information on the typical lives of the slaves, how they spent their days, how they were treated in different situations/locations, etc. Overall, I would say the Plantation Tour was good. The Swamp tour was FABULOUS! Where we got on out flat boat, there were numerous airboats for tours as well. They were so loud and fast that they couldn't see any alligators while we saw many on the side of the swamp. I took many pictures, some that moved away, and a few that just sat there on the bank as our quiet boat slowly moved near them. The Captain told us information about the life cycle of alligators as well as information on the swamp, such as the shrimp boats we passed on the way. Our boat captain also had a small live alligator that we were allowed to hold. One of the most interesting things I have ever done, and I used to be a Science teacher! One issue we did have was the tour bus operator. Our driver left and we were told we would have a different driver back. When the swamp tour was over, there were 3 buses from the company, but no-one seemed to know who we should ride back with. It was confusing, but we did get a ride back. On further issue was the behavior of a group from a "bachelorette party" who were rude, loud and cursing. Once a few of the other passengers asked them to stop being so rude, there was almost a fight right on board the bus. Our driver did her best to stop the behavior and pulled the bus over with permission to leave the bachelorette group on the side of the road. They quieted down and we continued. I mention this as I imagine that group will all write bad reviews about the driver, but she did her best in a difficult situation and I would congratulate her on her job (although I do wish they would have been left on the side of the road as they deserved it).
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
We can't thank you enough for the positive review! Most importantly, we thank you for your understanding of the difficult situation on the bus. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.
star-3
Plantation nice, swamp tour bad
Yvonne_B
, Feb 2020
It was a rainy and cold day - okay to visit the plantation but not for the swamp Tour. Destrehan is very interesting. I liked the different, old fashioned men and women which have guided us through the rooms. I got a lot of insights about the life of former owners, deseases and slavery. The swamp tour is not recommended at cold degrees. There we’re no alligators to see, no fun during steamboat ride. The guide didn‘t cancel the senseless Tour, didn‘t help to protect for getting wet.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
We are sorry about your experience, but the weather is completely out of our control. For future reference, we do not make anyone get on the tour if they didn't want to. We would've gladly rescheduled you. We do not cancel the tours because some of guests still want to go on tour, so we leave the decision up to the guests. The wildlife do hibernate during the cold weather, so naturally, they wouldn't be out as a compared to a warmer day.
star-5
SUPER!
ligiapuiu676
, Oct 2019
It was interesting with wonderfull view.The story with the aligator was so lung. Sorry, I don't have time to compose a long review.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans
Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans

star-4.526

6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$105.00

star-527

6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-4.5108

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.00

star-4.56

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.00

star-4.514

6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-428

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-443

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.00

star-4.5150

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$142.00

star-4.513

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

Explore Similar Things to Do