Recent Searches
Clear

Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum

star-4.5121 Reviews
|
Nairobi, Kenya
Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum

From $75.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Nairobi is home to dozens of incredible sites and this full-day tour showcases some of the best of this East African city. Follow your expert guide and small group into the stunning landscapes of Nairobi National Park, where you have the chance to see some of the nation's most iconic animals in the wild. Enjoy lunch in a local restaurant and then stop at the Karen Bixen Museum, to learn about the history, culture, and traditions of Kenya's diverse people. The tour ends with a visit to the Giraffe Center, where you have a chance to learn about the endangered Rothschild giraffe and see how major conservation efforts are being made to protect this graceful animal.
  • Nairobi National Park, elephant orphanage, giraffes, and Karen Blixen Museum tour
  • See African wildlife up close
  • Tour Nairobi's top sites with a professional guide
  • Enjoy personalized attention on this small-group tour
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Driver/guide
Bottled water
Nairobi national park $43 / child 20$ (payable by credit card only).
David sheldrick $15 (payable by cash or m-pesa)
Giraffe center $15: (payable by credit card only)
Karen Blixen $12 (payable by credit card only)
Food and drinks

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.All Hotels , Residencies within Nairobi city, or nearest airport
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY safarilinks africa ltd.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
121 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 121 reviews
star-1
Terrible experience!
Nessma_A
, Mar 2022
I don’t recommend this company at all. I booked with them twice. First time they didn’t show up on time and were not helpful about time of pick up so I had to cancel due to other commitments. They advised to book next day which I did. Again no one showed up and after waiting for one hour I contacted them and was told that trip was cancelled but they didn’t even bother to inform me! Very bad experience, zero customer service. They wasted two days of my holiday.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
we deeply regret this terrible situation, we will rectify this and make sure this will repeat again to our future customers.
star-5
Great experience
Brittany_H
, Feb 2022
I am glad we did this and would recommend it to others! Bring snacks though because it can be a long day.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for booking our tour and taking your time to write a review about the experience you had with us. Thank you
star-5
Nice Day Trip
Irmgard_M
, Sep 2021
Nice day trip to the Nairobi National Park, the Giraffe Center and the Karen Blixen Museum. Saw quiet a view Animals, including, a Lioness, Rhinos, Serval and others. The Driver was great as well and very punctually
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for booking our tour and taking your time to write about your experience with us in the tour. We are glad you had a nice trip with our guide and were able to locate wild animals. we look forward to serve you again in future. Thank you
star-5
Not to me missed
Tessa
, Nov 2020
Wonderful, wonderful experience ! How fortunate was I to book this! In the centre of Nairobi , 100 km of land devoted to the preservation of wildlife ( I’m talking giraffes, zebras, lions etc) and I witnessed it all. I must say our guide went far beyond his services by assuring we were in close proximity to all these beautiful animals........ they were great guides too !
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Thank you for taking your time to write about the experince you during the day tour with us. We are glad you liked every bit and look forward to serve you again in future.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Nice tour, but overpriced
travelchick202
, Oct 2019
Overall, I enjoyed this tour. However, at almost $100/person, it is very overpriced. It should be 1/2 that amount, at best. Our guide arrived over 2 hours late, so we were already tired and a bit frustrated by the time we got started. We enjoyed all of the sites though, especially the Karen Blixen Museum and Giraffe Center. The Elephant Orphanage was a bit dull. Our guide was nice and kept us moving along from one site to the next.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience with us for the tour, we are glad you liked it. we will review the price so that it accommodated the budget , thank you for letting us know we assure you we will work on the pricing.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
very good
Sightseer40431148827
, Jun 2019
Alex was an excellent driver! we saw lots of animals, and he really knows where to find them! highly recommen, highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our service . Looking forward to serve you in the future when you visit nairobi again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Was very good, saw 8 lions, many giraffes and many other animals
Eka_C
, Jan 2019
Was very good, saw 8 lions, many giraffes and many other animals, In elephant orphanage little elephants was so fanny
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This was an excellent comprehensive day...
Souvik S
, Aug 2018
This was an excellent comprehensive day trip, highly recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This tour was my introduction to...
Mary_O
, Aug 2018
This tour was my introduction to African animals prior to doing an overland tour. I was blown away by the animals and how close you could get to them in all locations. The elephant orphanage was fabulous and the baby elephants were very cheeky - spraying muddy water everywhere even over the spectators! I skipped the Karen Blixen Museum in favour of Bomas of Kenya which I loved. Those who went to the museum were not too impressed so I was glad I chose Bomas!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This was such a fun day! I enjoyed...
Ashley_C
, Jul 2018
This was such a fun day! I enjoyed the Giraffe Center and Elephant Orphanage the most. You get to see a lot of major sights in Nairobi in a short period of time, which was great! Also, our driver/tour guide was incredible -- he was extremely accommodating. He also assisted with getting to my final destination on time. I would highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
We enjoyed this day of activities...
MATT S
, Apr 2018
We enjoyed this day of activities immensely, starting with the national park we were surprised at how many animals we saw, including a rhino. The elephant orphanage was interesting, great seeing the successful Kenyan conservation and education efforts in action. The baby elephants has such characters and we enjoyed watching them feeding and playing. The giraffe center was fun, we fed some greedy giraffes but also learnt much about these interesting creatures. We didnt end up going to Karen Blixen, instead went for lunch with our guide at a local recommendation which did some of the tastiest Kenyan food we had all trip. Our guide was great, had many laughs with hin throughout the day. He was very engaging and informed on all the places we visited as well as giving us an insight into Kenyan life. Highly recommend having a day in Nairobi with him to see the sights and learn about Kenya.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
When I planned this trip I had no...
Robin D
, Feb 2018
When I planned this trip I had no expectations, no one I knew had ever been, it was a clean slate. Im having the time of my life and my safari hasnt even started yet. The people are wonderful, and not just because its their business to be polite. I booked this tour because I had scheduled a few extra days in Nairobi before my safari to the Maasai Mara and this seemed to hit all the high points and was an efficient use of time. The driver Douglas was terrific, very helpful, informative and we had a very small group of 3. I had a wonderful day and would do it again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
It was excellent. Very good driver and...
Glenn M
, Nov 2017
It was excellent. Very good driver and listen to the customers proportion.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
It was a very good tour. I was...
Bill604
, Nov 2017
It was a very good tour. I was picked up at my hotel at 6:30 am and I was back to my hotel by 3 pm. Admission fee to the 4 facilities is not included. A credit card is needed for the Nairobi National Park. Cash can be used at the other three facilities. Our driver/guide was friendly and spoke English quite well. We spent 3 hours in the Nairobi National Park. I was impressed with the variety of wildlife encountered which included lions, zebras, rhinos, water buffaloes, ostriches, wildebeests, gazelles, warthogs, hippos, and various types of birds. We spent one hour at the Elephant Orphanage and saw plenty of baby elephants. We spent one hour at the Giraffe Center where we fed the giraffes by hand and learned about the three different types of giraffes. We also spent about an hour at the Karen Blixen Museum which gave a glimpse into life during colonial Kenya.
star-4
This was a great way to see Nairobi...
Laura V
, Sep 2017
This was a great way to see Nairobi in one day. The guide was pleasant but very quiet and didn't freely offer up information when in the National Park--we had to prompt for knowledge about the animals that we were seeing when we did ask, he was very knowledgable. We also ran out of time, so we had to make a choice between Karen Blixen and the Boma's of Kenya, rather than being able to to both. The National Park, David Sheldrick Orphanage and Giraffe Centre are all excellent attractions--and are highly recommended if you visit Nairobi. I had read all the other reviews of the tour so was prepared to have to pay all of the entry fees, but note, that you do have to do that. The National Park doesn't take cash so you need to make sure you have Visa or Mastercard with you to pay this fee. Lunch was at a restaurant with a fixed menu, it was tasty but there was limited choice, when with a group though this is a practical option. Overall, it was an enjoyable day and I would recommend this tour.
star-2
The actual locations Nairobi...
Chidinma O
, Sep 2017
The actual locations Nairobi National Park, Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Center, and Karen Blixen Museum are worth the visits, and I would highly recommend that you go to see them. However, paying a tour company to arrange these visits is highly unnecessary because your Viator payment DOES NOT INCLUDE park fees nor does it include lunch. The only value added by our tour guide was his friendliness, and at the Nairobi National Park where he drove us around and was knowledgeable about the varied animals. However aside from the Nairobi National Park, he was simply a driver for the other locations. We bought our own tickets and navigated the Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Center, and Karen Blixen Museum using the location tour guides each location have their own internal tour guides. To make things worse, our guide was 1 late for our initial pickup in the morning tour was supposed to depart pickup location by 6am but he didn't arrive till well past 7am, and we officially arrived at the first location Nairobi National Park to start the tour at 8am, 2 we were late to our 2nd location i.e. the Elephant Orphanage which ends at a fixed time, 3 it would have helped to have gotten a good sketch of the day ahead of time, so that we could have helped keep ourselves and the guide on track with timing to arrive at the locations. My recommendation is to arrange a tour for the Nairobi National Park only. Use Uber / private transport to get to the other locations. 125 is a bit hefty to pay for a day driver.
star-4
We had a great time with Douglas! He...
Sara H
, Aug 2017
We had a great time with Douglas! He was informative, communicative, friendly, and professional. The National Park was fantastic, as were the other sites!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
We are regretful too to learn you had great time with Douglas . we look forward to host you in future
star-4
The tour of Nairobi Park was...
Luke B
, Jul 2017
The tour of Nairobi Park was amazing, and the host had an amazing way of helping me hunt for the best photos, in the safety of his SUV. I learned alot from my host about safari and Kenya on general.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you very much
star-5
Amazing tour in Nairobi National...
Jean M
, May 2017
Amazing tour in Nairobi National Park. One thing to know the entrances tickets are not included, approximativly 70 dollars but the driver picked me at hotel at 7AM and returned at the hotel at 7PM. Great experience close to Nairobi, you will find wildlife
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you very much
star-5
I was very fortunate to have such a...
James C
, Apr 2017
I was very fortunate to have such a fantastic tour guide called Douglas. He really helped make this day tour special for me by not only taking me to the places booked on the tour, but also a fantastic gift shop and an amazing coffee shop where i made a connection with the owner. Douglas was accompanied by his apprentice called Patricia. They were engaging, funny and also took an interest in me as a person. At no point did I feel like a customer, I was made to feel like a friend. The tour its self was incredible, from the national park, seeing lions straight after a hunt, to watching the orphaned elephants play and feed, to feeding giraffes and holding a baby crocodile. However my day was completed by watching the traditional dancing at the Bomas. They even got me on stage for a few moments during their dance. It was an unbelievable day, worth every penny. Thank you Douglas and Patricia.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you . we look forward to host you again James.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum
Day Tour at Nairobi National Park elephant orphanage, giraffe cent karen museum

star-4.5121

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

Explore Similar Things to Do