Recent Searches

Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center
Special Offer

From $23.50

$25.00  Save $1.50

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Experience three top Nairobi destinations on a half-day tour of the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, Giraffe Manor, and the Karen Blixen Museum that includes door-to-door transport from your hotel or the Nairobi airport. Making the most of limited time in the city, explore wildlife, conservation, and history: visit an elephant orphanage, feed giraffes, and enjoy views of the Ngong Hills from Blixen’s beautifully preserved home.
  • Visit Nairobi highlights on a half-day tour
  • See rescued rhinos, elephants, and giraffes
  • Great introduction to Kenya wildlife conservation
  • Round-trip transport means a hassle-free trip
Saved to wishlist!
Local taxes
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Bottled water
Entrance fees .( David sheldrick = 15$.(Only cash) Giraffe center 15 $.(credit card only) Blixen 12$

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

Please arrive 30 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

All Hotels and Residencies within Nairobi city or Nearest Airport.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Infant meals not included
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • No restrictions. everybody can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 104 travelers
  • OPERATED BY safarilinks africa ltd.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center.
What is the policy on sanitization during Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center.
What is the social distancing policy during Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Entry fees were not outlined clearly on the website before purchasing the tour." See review


88 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews
Entry fee not included
, Aug 2021
I was disappointed that the price of this experience did not include the entry fees for each experience. I was also disappointed that we weren’t able to visit the elephant orphanage because it was already fully booked for the day. When you book this trip you are only paying for the driver, be prepared to pay the entry fee for each experience. Cash is not accepted.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Kelly_E Thank you for writing about your experience with us during the tour, Please note that we do not include the entrance fees to the attractions due to changing restrictions on covid 19 , so that if one does not visit either of them you have not paid before hand. the government encourages of cashless transaction during this time due to the above reason. we are really sorry for the disappointment, we will improve on the areas pointed out when things get better.
Giraffes were amazing
, Feb 2020
Unbeknown to me this is an add on tour. The actual group starts at 6am. The tour coordinator didnt count me into the vehicle so I had to squish in the middle of the front seat. The driver picked me up and had to waste 1.5 hours for us to meet up with the actual group. He did take me to a souvenir shop so that was nice. Elephants were nice. But it was super crowded and seriously i would skip it if u have already seen elephants. The Karen museum i did skip but the few who did it said it was great. Our driver was willing to take us to a shop not listed in the tour. Dinner was expensive and took 1.5 hours. We rushed to the giraffe center. It was the highlight for me. It was wonderful and not overly crowded. I would have paid just for a driver to take me just to here. Amazing. If i compared it to a tour in the USA i would have been frusterated and disappointed. However, it isnt USA and I was happy to get out. We were 2.5 hours late getting back to the hotel. But hey it seems normal in Kenya that times are only a suggestion.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hello, Thank you for submitting your review about your experience with us during your tour. we deeply regret the inconvenience caused by our arrangement and we will without any delay rectify the issues pointed out so that any other person who books in future does not encounter the same. we are really sorry
Elephant orphanage and Giraffe center fantastic!
Trudy J
, Oct 2019
Visiting the orphanages's were fantastic experience. I have mixed thoughts on the museum. It was not what I expected and disappointing to pay so much money and to be told we have to leave a tip for the guide. The museum was not worth what the entry fee. I wish could of been given the option not to go on the museum tour. Entry fees were not outlined clearly on the website before purchasing the tour. This came up once I had booked the tour. So basically the tour only included transport. The guide that drove us around was pleasant. The bus was old and the seat I was told to sit in was broken (the seat that moves to allow people to get in the back of the bus). I had to ask if I could sit in the front due to the broken seat. This made my trip more comfortable.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear TRUDY J, Thank you for booking our tour and taking your time to write a review about your experience during the day, we are glad you liked the elephant orphanage and the giraffe center, fro the karen blixen we will look for an option for people who would not like to visit, thank you for rating Alex our guide, we have acquired a new bus and will be soon available
Thenuwan W
, Jul 2019
The vehicle suppose to pick us from hotel didnt come. instead some other driver came and took us to a place where we had to wait almost 2 hours till our original driver comes. by that time the feeding times of the elephants were over. Then at giraffe center they didnt accept Kenya currency or USD for entrance tickets. they wanted a credit card which we denied. Ultimately a dissapointing tour that wasted our time.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Thank you for writing about this, However allow me to explain , This is a joining tour and it depends on the pick up location, we pick people who have booked for the day from different locations. It is explained in the tour description that the giraffe center does not accept cash . please be checking what you expect be fore booking to avoid disappointment.
Nairobi experience
, Jul 2019
Amazing day watching Elephant calves play in the mud, feeding giraffes & a bit of history with Karen Blixen & out of Africa
Should have taken an Uber.
, Jul 2019
The only thing you’re getting for this price is a driver. It’s too expensive, and not worth the money. There was a lot of just waiting around. We had tree different drivers, and had to change cars. Not very smooth. They also took us to a gift shop, and stayed there for 30 minutes. It was not in the description, and I did not like that. The restaurant they took us to was pricey, and the food was bad. I would recommend going to the elephant orphanage and giraffe park, but take en Uber! An Uber will take you straight there, and cost a lot less.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Thank you for highlighting areas of your concern about this tour Please note that changing cars depends on the pick up locations at times places are wide apart and if one car is used the you get late. when you book a joining tour, kindly be tolerant to accommodate other participants as it is a policy in this nature of tours. thank you.
A great day out
Mbali S
, Apr 2019
My mother and I enjoyed the half day tour to the giraffe centre, elephant sanctuary and the Karen Bliksen museum. Our driver Alex was flexible as we changed our pickup place a night before. He arrived 10 mins early and was already waiting for us when we were done. The tour ended up being with just us two on the day, so we took our time at the different sites. The Giraffe centre was absolutely heart warming, getting to feed the giraffes was awesome and the talk by the guide was great. The elephanat sanctuary was just as amazing as we watched the baby elephants being fed their milk. It was also heartwarming to hear the conservation stories from the centre and the good work that is being done. The Karen Bliksen museum was also informative and was super nostalgic with the "Out of Africa" memorabilia. Our driver also stopped off at a nice restaurant after the busy day. The only thing that was disappointing was that Alex was just a driver, not really a guide. He really didn't share much with us on the journey and couldn't really answer questions about some of the places we saw on the way. This was disappointing as we had read reviews about one of the drivers James who was apparenlty great and gave extra information. The mini van was also very old and the seatbelts were rusted and some of them did not work.
If you only have a half day to visit...
william w
, Sep 2017
If you only have a half day to visit I highly recommend this tour. The elephant orphanage is tremendous,we actually adopted a baby elephant. The giraffe center is a quick stop to admire these amazing animals and feed them,and finally if you are a fan of the movie Out of Africa as I am you will really get a kick out of visiting the home of Karen Blixen. The driver picked us up at the hotel where we stored our luggage and then off to the airport to fly to Arusha.
This was a great experience and a...
Thomas R
, Jul 2017
This was a great experience and a perfect way to see some of the top attractions around Nairobi. Each of the three places was special and unique. My only disappointment was that the gentleman who accompanied, Douglas, us served more as just a driver than as an actual guide. He would provide information when asked, but did not lead a tour and instead just drove us to the three places. It would have been nice to have been given more details about Nairobi, it's history and all, as we were going to the places. He was also about 15 minutes late getting us to the elephant orphanage, so we lost the first part of the talk. But, he later allowed us time to go eat at the Carnivore Restaurant, and so overall the experience was a very nice one.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you very much
Possibly over-priced as there are...
Jane G
, Jan 2017
Possibly over-priced as there are very enthusiastic, and cheaper, taxi drivers willing to drive you to and from destinations. But my guide was happy to deviate from the route to show me places of interest and was well-defined in history, issues and possible future of Nairobi
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you very much

Compare Similar Experiences

Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center
Special Offer
Nairobi Half-Day Tour in a Museum, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Center


6 hours

Free Cancellation

$25.00 $23.50

Explore Similar Things to Do