Recent Searches
Clear

Soweto and Apartheid Museum & Local Lunch Half Day Tour

star-4.57 Reviews
|
Johannesburg, South Africa
Soweto and Apartheid Museum & Local Lunch Half Day Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Lunch
WiFi on board
Accredited and Professional Tourist Guide
All Fees and Taxes
Alcoholic Beverages
Snacks

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered

Departure Time

8:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Nhlalala Travel
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
7 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-3 of 7 reviews
star-5
Great tour. I recommend.
Christine_D
, Dec 2020
It was a very interesting experience and visit. I regret that the time was so short to visit the museum.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Hi Christine. We thank you for the tour review as it means a lot to us. We also taking into account the time comment and began to rework on it to atleast admissible level. Thank you once more.
star-2
All Things Worth Seeing, But Not What is Advertised
Rebecca_C
, Feb 2020
This is a tough review to give, because the experience itself is well worth it, but the way our day played out was not what we expected and detracted from our ability to enjoy the experience. This tour is billed as a private tour, "Only your group will participate." This is NOT what happened. A guide picked my friend and I up and took us to another hotel where we were delivered to another tour guide and a group of 5 others. Those 5 had booked differently from us--ours a half day tour, theirs a full day that included a tour of Johannesburg at the end; ours included lunch, theirs did not. It was clear from their comments that they also expected a private tour--they apologized for holding up the tour, not realizing there were other people included in their tour. The night before (rather late--9pm), we were asked if pick up 15 minutes later was okay. We agreed, but because we were linked up with this other group, we left a full hour later than scheduled. Because of this, we had less time in the Apartheid museum in order to keep the schedule to visit Soweto, the Mandela House, and lunch. While our guide had offered us the ability to join the tour of Johannesburg with the rest of the group, we had to return to our hotel before leaving for the airport that night, which is why we booked only a half day. When lingered at lunch longer than expected and had to encourage the other group to pay for their lunch and remind the guide of our need to return to our hotel by a certain time. It was only because of that reminder that we made it back at the end of our window. I do recommend a tour that takes you to all of these places. I was most taken with the tour of Soweto, in particular the opportunity to interact with locals and see how some of them live. But this tour in particular was a disappointment. My friend and I booked multiple tours through Viator in Cape Town and Johannesburg, and this one is the only one that disappointed us because of how it was run--it was NOT a private tour as advertised, and our guide needed to be reminded multiple times of our need to return by a certain time.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hello Rebecca. We welcome your tour feedback as it is always helpful to our services. We apologize for not informing you in advance about this combination and we never had the opportunity to learn you were not comfortable in getting along with others. This is a lesson to always remember. We thank you for review is very helpful. For Apartheid Museum we usually spend not above 2 hours when doing the tour you booked for.
star-5
The best experience
faeom1980
, Feb 2020
Una experiencia realmente fantástica. A pesar de que mi inglés no es nada bueno, mi guía tuvo mucha paciencia para explicarme todo y esperarme en los lugares que visitamos. Un tour totalmente recomendado y personalizado. El guía siempre está muy atento en ayudarte en todo. Lo recomiendo definitivamente.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
De nada Martinez. We greatly appreciate your genuine review. We will continue doing our best to others too. Si Gracia's, adiós!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Soweto and Apartheid Museum & Local Lunch Half Day Tour
Soweto and Apartheid Museum & Local Lunch Half Day Tour

star-4.57

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.13

star-51

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.83

star-514

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.71

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$136.92

star-4.5131

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.51

star-58

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.38

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$238.97

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.73

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.25

Explore Similar Things to Do