Recent Searches
Clear

Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Johannesburg, South Africa
Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience

From $88.19

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 to 8 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Get the most possible learning out of your visits to the Cradle of Humankind and Sterkfontein Cave. By traveling with a guide, you'll get the full picture of the remarkable fossil findings there and why the site is so important. Walk through Sterkfontein Caves to see the fossils of hominids such as Little Foot and Mrs. Ples, two of the greatest archaeological discoveries of our time.
  • Learn about the fossil discoveries in the area through guided commentary
  • Walking tour lets you get up close to excavated sites
  • Learn much more on a guided tour than you would exploring on your own
  • Access to the exhibits at the Maropeng Visitors Centre
Saved to wishlist!
All Fees and Taxes
Air-conditioned vehicle
A bottle of water
Drinks
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Food and drinks
Food and drinks, other than the "value added offers" specified in your guidebook
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:30 AM
we pick up from any hotel in johannesburg but not in Pretoria,we can only come and pick up in Pretoria if is private. Hotels, Guest house, BNB and Residential
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • casual dress code
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Solly
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "On time pickup, safety trip, education, not recommend age under 7 go into cave because few tunnels very tiny a bit hard to pass through." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
76 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews
star-5
Educational and Amazing
Anna_C
, May 2022
The tour begins with a museum exhibit explaining the evolution of humankind and the connections to the hominid species discovered in the Sterkfontein caves. Then you drive a short way to the caves and get to see the spot where the bones were discovered as well as the winding passageways of the caves. Be prepared to wear a hardhat because you will need one. The tour does require descending and climbing stairs and ducking to fit into low tunnels. Solly was the perfect tour guide. He arrived on time and was professional. He is the owner of his tourism business and takes great pride, as he should, in what he has built. He is extremely knowledgeable and can answer any question with ease and a depth of understanding of the SA culture. It was a great experience getting to know him and learning so much about SA in a short time. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Anna,we really appreciate your feedback.
star-4
Meeting our ancestors
Amanda_G
, Apr 2022
The cave is amazing. We learned a lot about the history of our ancestors in Africa. The Maropeng visitor center is a little too much like an amusement park for our taste - we didn't learn anything on the boat ride, but the displays were informative.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Amanda.
star-5
Cradle of Humankind Cave
Nushin_G
, Feb 2022
This trip was very informative and fun! My family had a lot of fun learning about the history of the caves and exploring the area. We then went to a museum that Solly arranged so we can tie everything we learned in the cave with the history of our ancestors. It was a wonderful day!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thanks Nushin, i really enjoyed my three days with and your family in Johannesburg
star-5
Informative and active
Donna_F
, Dec 2021
The tour was informative, inspiring, fun and provided an opportunity for moderate exercise as you climb back to the surface.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thanks Donna, please do come again.
star-5
Should go
Lorraine_M
, Dec 2021
There where a few things that where so good and very worthwhile going to see, Solly as always very good with information and driving excellent
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thanks Lorraine we really appreciate your feedback.
star-5
What a fun day.
Nathan_N
, Dec 2021
When we were on the way to the site our guide told us there were some surprises in store. He was so right. This was an exciting and memorable experience. I don’t want to spoil the surprise but I had very high expectations for this day and they were all exceeded.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thanks Nathan.
star-3
Underwhelming
Jennifer_C
, Oct 2021
Average tour. We were disappointed with the overall experience. It started off badly from the beginning. A different guide than we were supposed to have, showed up with the tiniest car I've seen in a while. Not sufficient for 3 adults, nor appropriate for a guided tour. I had to sit with my knees crammed into the dashboard for over an hour each way of driving. Time at the museum felt rushed. We barely had an hour, which is not enough time. The cave tour was fun and interesting. Overall, for an "all day tour," we spent maybe 2.5 hours actually on tour. The rest was driving and standing around, not learning anything. The guide is basically just a driver. At each of the sites, you have guides provided by the sites. For the price of this tour, I was expecting a much better experience.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Jennifer,thank you very much for your feedback. I understood that you were expecting Solly but all our guides are well training by myself (Solly). I understood you asked us to carry you and your luggage along and drop you off at the airport after the tour and we used 4seater vehicle to carry you and your mummy but our guide told us how big your luggage and he couldn't carry it along with you to the Maropeng and he called me and he explained to me which i volunteer myself and drove big vehicle from our office to your hotel and waited for you at your hotel even dropped you off at the airport with your luggage. So how do we go wrong? Concerning the museum and caves the sites have sites guides so we are not allowe to guide and we need to follow the rules of museum and caves. I don't understand why you said we gave you 2hr:30mins at the museum and caves but your tour started 11am at the museum and after the museum you joining 1pm tour at caves,so i don't understand because i bought your tickets for museum and the caves by myself and you only arrived back to your hotel 4pm so what happen? So it is just unfortunately but thanks for your feedback.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The Museum is very modern and interaktive one. I really liked the caves! Was an interesting and funny exüperience
Heike_W
, Oct 2021
This was my third tour with Solly, he is very nice guide and cares about his clients a lot. I would always recommed this tour. He provided us with helpfull information while driving.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks alot Heike for sharing your experience with the whole world. Please come again
star-5
Fun and Educational Tour
Verona
, May 2021
The museum visit was very interesting and educational. It explained the evolution of our species through various interactive exhibits. Going underground to see where the fossils were discovered was a fun experience. Would recommend this tour.
star-5
incredible / all the information and to actually experience the caves
Barbara_R
, May 2021
Solly brought us safely through with such care and he was a book of knowledge /never did I realize the depth of those caves and all the treasures there
star-5
Fantastic
Mila_M
, May 2021
We truly enjoyed our experience at the Cradle of Humankind. Our son learnt lots because he is studying about it at school. Our Guide Soly was so knowledgeable and gave us an informative lecture about it. Thanks Soly
star-5
Fun experience
CarmenJessica_H
, Mar 2021
The museum wa fun for all ages and very educational. I really enjoyed it and the cave was beautiful.
star-5
Tour Guide Solly was...
Daniel_F
, Mar 2021
Tour Guide Solly was great and on time. Shared interesting history facts of not only the city but the history of the gold and diamond mining days.
star-5
Informative tour and great guide/driver
Roderick_M
, Mar 2020
Commenting on behalf of one of my guests. Thoroughly enjoyed the outing. Informative guide, comfortable transportation and plenty of time to explore. As a Tour Manager of groups, I would recommend this tour for those interested in this activity.
star-5
Wonderful
Patricia_M
, Mar 2020
Solly was amazing. Best tour ever. We were picked up from our hotel at the time specified. Truly amazing.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent Tour of the Cradle of Humankind and Caves
Adrian_B
, Jan 2020
Really enjoyed this tour. Solly who was are tour guide and driver arrived on time and was able to offer us a lot of context and history to the overall tour. The cave experience was amazing. Warning, be prepared to do some weird body movments to climb back out! I had an awesome experience and would definitely reccomend this tour!
star-5
Good Service
Kwun_C
, Nov 2018
On time pickup, safety trip, education, not recommend age under 7 go into cave because few tunnels very tiny a bit hard to pass through.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience
Maropeng Cradle of Humankind & Sterkfontein Cave Experience

star-576

7 to 8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$88.19

star-4.53

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.35

star-52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.89

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$137.19

star-56

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.17

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$148.56

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.68

star-529

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$201.22

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.67

Explore Similar Things to Do