Recent Searches
Clear
Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour

Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour

star-4.5372 Reviews
|
Charleston, United States
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Decide for yourself if Charleston’s ghost stories are true on this haunted after-hours tour of the Holy City. Walk to infamously spooky locations—including the Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon—and hear a mix of history and lore from your guide about soldiers who once fought within the city.
  • Haunted Charleston walking tour
  • Learn about under-the-radar chapters of Charleston history
  • Visit some of the city’s spookiest locations
  • Guide shares historical narratives and ghost stories alike
Saved to wishlist!
In-person guide
Gratuity for your guide
Waterfront Park , Charleston, SC 29401, USA

The intersection of Vendue Range and Concord Streets. Our guide will be standing near the water fountain in front of The Joe Riley Waterfront Park. You should see The Harbourview Inn across from this fountain also.

9:00 PM
Vendue Range , Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

The tour will end near the starting location. The tour guides are happy to help with directions.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ghost City Tours of Charleston
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
372 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 372 reviews
star-5
Awesome experience
Christian_H
, Nov 2021
We enjoyed getting two tours in ones. At first I didn’t think I captured anything on my phone but after I left a looked over my photos, I believe I captured a face in one of the windows in the Wagener Building (second row of windows, 4 from the left). Someone else captured a face in the same building but a different window. It was a very exciting sighting for me.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you for leaving this review and sharing your experience with us!
star-5
Made my week
Mollie_Y
, Sep 2021
Lance you da man, very knowledgeable (as far as I know) and super entertaining - Chris with the beard!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
This is great to hear, thank you for letting us know how informative your guide was!
star-5
Our ghost tour
Jennifer_K
, Aug 2021
Bryan was an awesome Story teller.....great for all ages even my 6 year old grandson enjoyed it....it was literally our favorite part of our Charleston visit
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Happy to hear it! When our guides can entertain the whole family, that's how we know they're doing something right. Thank you for the review.
star-3
Could have been spookier
Chelsea_F
, Jul 2021
Nice tour with good history, but a bit too mild for our group. My 8 and 10 year old kids could’ve used a few stories that were more spooky and not just a history of what happened in each spot. Knowledgeable staff, but very little on the ghostly side of things, which is what we were hoping for.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Unfortunately, in order to make our content suitable for younger audiences, we have to water down a lot of the spooky details of history. We completely understand that our all-ages tours can be less exciting for individuals eager to hear the darker and more gruesome history. We appreciate this feedback, and we will use this for future improvements. If you would like, we would love to have you experience our adults-only tour so you can enjoy the more exciting and descriptive paranormal history.
star-4
History in the dark!
Barbara_Smith
, Jun 2021
We had j fun time! The kids enjoyed it much more than I thought they would. Very informative about the historical things in Charleston.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Barbara! We're happy to hear your family had a good time learning about Charleston's dark history on our Ghosts of Liberty Tour. Thank you for joining us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!
star-5
Great time!
ShannonRae_D
, Apr 2021
This was our third tour but first with this group. Our guide was amazing!! She was very funny and super informative! Highly recommended!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
YAY! Thanks for the review and thank you for joining us:)
star-5
Awesome storytelling!
NatalieHall
, Mar 2021
I loved Michael’s story about Annabel. He was very detailed and entertaining. He was fun and charismatic and the walk was easy and fun.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
We are so glad that you loved your tour and Micheal!! Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we hope that you will join us again soon!
star-1
What a waste of time
BarryFlaherty
, Dec 2020
Nobody showed for the tour and they’re making it very difficult to get my money back. Customer service keeps passing me back and forth and saying that there’s nothing they can. Not only did they waste my time and money the night of the tour, they continue to do so.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take all reviews very seriously and will address this situation.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Ask for Sara!!
Janice_F
, Oct 2020
This ghost tour was tons of fun! Our guide was a fantastic storyteller. She knew tons about Charleston history but told it in a relatable way. It was like listening to a great history teacher. Sara may have missed her calling:)
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate it and are happy that you had fun on your tour!
star-3
Get your stories straight!!
Susan_F
, Sep 2020
One of the most popular things to do in Charleston is to go on an evening ghost tour. I’d already been on one on a previous visit so wanted to bring my family (husband, 23 & 24 years old kids) while we were in town. It’s hard to know what company to reserve with and an even bigger crap-shoot which tour guide you’ll get. The tales we got were different than the ones I’d heard the last time and they were different than what we’d heard the day before on our carriage ride around town, AND they were different than what the other tour guides were saying who were near us! In fact there’s so many tours out and about that it loses its excitement. But it seems like the least thing the tour guides could do is tell the same story about Lavinia Fisher! Our tour guide encouraged us to take multiple pictures to see if we could detect an orb (ghost). Any small blur or lighting glow was a ghost according to him. He had us look at pictures in his phone that were clearly just blurry. There’s really nothing ‘haunted’ you’re going to see on the tours. And what you’ll learn about Charleston’s history depends on your tour guide. I love to be outside at night so it was nice to be out walking around a new area of town. It’s worth going once but good luck getting a tour guide who’s a good story-teller.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour
Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour

star-4.5372

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$0.00

star-51515

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$21.80

star-51395

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$21.06

star-4.5100

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.99

star-555

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$22.00

star-515

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-549

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

Explore Similar Things to Do