Recent Searches
Clear

Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Charleston, United States
Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Watch the sun set above Charleston, South Carolina with a 2-hour sunset harbor cruise aboard a 45-foot motorized catamaran. Find a comfortable seat on deck, spot the landmarks of downtown Charleston and the waterfront, and watch for the dolphins and sea birds that thrive along the South Carolina shoreline. Enjoy a relaxing break from the city while spending a romantic evening on the water.
  • 2-hour Charleston Harbor cruise
  • Watch sunset from a catamaran
  • See the sights from the water
  • Encounter native wildlife in a natural environment
  • Romantic experience, perfect for couples
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Food and drinks
Charleston Maritime Center , 10 Wharfside St, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

Address: 10 Wharfside Street Charleston, SC 29401

This activity will end right where it started.
Meet your guide at the Charleston Maritime Center in downtown Charleston 30 minutes prior to departure, and check in at the blue and white ticket booth onsite. Learn the basics of onboard safety before heading out into the Charleston Harbor. This is not a narrated tour, but the captain and first mate will be available throughout the sail to answer questions and point out local landmarks.

Cruise under the iconic span of the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge as navigate along the scenic harbor, and enjoy an mellow playlist of music. See the Battery, Fort Sumter, Fort Moultrie and Charleston’s scenic lighthouses from the water—with unobstructed views, this is the perfect time to snap photographs of the iconic landmarks.

Relax on deck for nature’s sunset show: the sun sets directly over the land, lighting up the clouds and waterfront. Soft drinks, beer and wine are available for purchase, and you’ll finish your harbor cruise back at the Maritime Center, close to some of downtowns best bars, restaurants and cafes.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Fort Sumter National Monument
Pass by without stopping.
Pass By:  
South Carolina Aquarium
Pass by without stopping.
Pass By:  
Fort Moultrie
Pass by without stopping.
Pass By:  
Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Pass under bridge.
Pass By:  
Battery & White Point Gardens
Pass by without stopping.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • If there is any in-climate weather approaching. Please contact Supplier prior to arrival. Phone is in the Voucher.
  • Dress code is smart casual
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Paid parking is available in the SC Aquarium Parking Garage (5 minute walk) or at the parking meters on Concord Street. Please keep in mind that street parking can sometimes be difficult to find. The Charleston Maritime Center (owned by the City of Charleston) sadly does not offer parking to the public. However, passengers are allowed to be dropped off. As you get closer to the water look for the blue & white Sandlapper Tours ticket booth on the left dock. Feel free to call if you have questions or need help.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Sandlapper Water Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Please remember to bring cash for drinks, and, also, a tip for the crew, if you want to tip." See review
  • "The boat was full so if you want to get a good seat get there a little early and be one of the first ones down the ramp when they say it is time to board." See review
  • "My niece and nephew are 10 and 6 and they were bored, so take that into consideration if you have young children and are wanting to take this cruise, Bring something for them to do." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
509 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 509 reviews
star-5
Sunset Cruise
Michelle_R
, Aug 2022
JP & Victor were awesome! A+ hospitality!!! Enjoyed the tidbits about the sights along the way! Would definitely recommend!
star-5
Great experience despite weather.
Zachary_M
, Aug 2022
Great experience. Very entertaining crew. Lots of time to enjoy the water. It was raining but the crew made it fun. I would do it again. High recommendation.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi Zachary, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the sunset cruise in spite of the rainy weather. We wish every evening could bring spectacular sunsets but alas, we have not figured out how to control the weather. Glad that y'all found the crew entertaining and fun! We sincerely appreciate the excellent review and look forward to welcoming you back aboard the Palmetto for a spectacular sunset, the next time that you are in Charleston!
star-5
Enjoyed this cruise....
Monica_B
, Aug 2022
Enjoyed this cruise. Beautiful sunset and we saw several dolphins. The crew was helpful taking our pictures
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
HI Monica, we are so glad that y'all enjoyed the sunset cruise and glad that you were able to see dolphins. They are beautiful creatures. Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you aboard the Palmetto again soon.
star-5
Breathe Taking Evening
Edwardine_C
, Aug 2022
The beautiful views from the water. Getting to see Charleston from the water was amazing. The sunset was as beautiful as promised. Our crew JP and Victor were the best. Was a great end to our vacation.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Edward, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your sunset cruise experience. What a perfect way to wind down the vacation--on the water with a beautiful sunset and spectacular views. Captain JP and Victor do a great job for sure. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Charleston and sincerely appreciate the great review! Safe Travels!
star-5
We had a blast!
Latonya_J
, Aug 2022
Victor was awesome. PJ navigated us safely and gave us lots of information on the history of historical sites.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Latonya, we are so glad that y'all had a blast on the sunset cruise with Victor and Captain JP. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you aboard the Palmetto again...
star-5
A 25th or Wedding Anniversary Vacation to remember 🌹
AnnelleLeroy_E
, Aug 2022
We had no clue this sunset Cruise was gonna be so beautiful (Wow). After a total of 5 Tours/ Cruises and attractions; we both agree this was the best! The scenery and lovely breeze was all you could ask for and to have a Marine biologist on board. It was great to get educated on ocean/ sea a d marine life. My husband snap great photos and took many videos. Thank you for sharing the richness of American and Charlestons SC History! There is now a special place in my 💜 and yummy for Charleston SC.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Wow! We are so glad that we were able to help you and your husband create a new memory on your 25th Wedding Anniversary during our sunset cruise. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and your guide. So glad that your husband got great photos. Thank you so much for your great review and for sharing your wonderful experience. Happy 25th Anniversary! from your friends at Sandlapper Water Tours!
star-5
Victor and captain Robert...
Jacob_M
, Aug 2022
Victor and captain Robert were a great team, offering fun historical tidbits and comic relief. Was a lot of fun!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Jacob, we are so glad that y’all enjoyed the sunset cruise and we totally agree that Victor and Captain Robert make a great team! Thank you for the great review. Hope to see y’all aboard the Palmetto again soon.
star-5
Wonderful evening!
Joy_S
, Aug 2022
We had a great time. Beautiful evening and great way to end our vacation. Victor was very entertaining and JP was very informative.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Joy, thanks so much for the great review! We are so glad that y'all enjoyed the sunset cruise and honored that you chose to spend the last night of your vacation with us! Hope y'all had a great vacation in Charleston. Safe Travels...
star-5
Great!
MrsA_W
, Aug 2022
The staff was very pleasant. We were able to play music via Bluetooth which made the ride even more enjoyable..the bartender was awesome and nice!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed the sunset cruise and our staff.
star-5
Fun time with great atmosphere
Brittany_W
, Jul 2022
This was a great time. Some sight seeing, the sunset, drinks, music, ours turned into a dance party by the end. It was fun’
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Brittany thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad that y’all had a fun time and sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience on the sunset cruise!
star-5
Victor and Robert were...
Raven_P
, Jul 2022
Victor and Robert were the absolute best!!! It was my daughters first time on a boat and they made her feel so welcomed. Great ride, information, and tons of fun!! We will be coming back!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Raven, we are delighted to hear that y’all had tons of fun on the sunset cruise and honored that we were the first boat that your daughter has ever been on. Victor and Captain Robert do a wonderful job for sure. Thanks for recognizing them! We look forward to welcoming you back aboard the Palmetto the next time y’all are in Charleston…
star-5
Perfect cruise!
Andrea_A
, Jul 2022
This was a perfect way to end the day! The boat was just the right size. Victor and the captain were entertaining and informative. They didn’t talk the entire time and played great music inbetween talking about the sights. Everyone was given a chance to go to the front of the boat with their groups so Victor could take your pictures. It was great to have drinks and snacks to purchase. We completely enjoyed this! I can’t wait to do it next time we are in town!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Andrea, we are so glad that you had the “perfect” sunset cruise experience and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you aboard the Palmetto on your next visit to Charleston.
star-4
Overall really nice cruise
Michael_D
, Jul 2022
Very nice cruise around the CHS bay. There was cloud cover so we didn't see a full sunset. But the captain and crew were great, as were the views of Charleston. Just a bit crowded on the boat and I was disappointed with the snack choices. But overall - worth the money and time.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hey Michael, thank you for sharing your experience on the sunset cruise! We are glad that you enjoyed the cruise but apologize for the cloud cover…we do wish that everyone could experience cloud free skies and perfect sunsets…I am sorry that you didn’t find our snack choices appealing. Please feel free to offer your suggestions for snacks. We do have limited space. Glad you found the cruise to be worth the time and money! Thanks again…
star-4
It was a great way to...
Miranda_B
, Jul 2022
It was a great way to spend two hours with a calm evening. However the staff was less than professional. Someone can call me if they’d like
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Miranda, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the sunset cruise. However, I am unsure of your comment about our staff being less than professional. We want all of our guests to be treated with professionalism. I’ll be reaching out for sure to find out more about your comment. Thanks!
star-5
What fun!
nemas3yahoocom
, Jul 2022
The entire experience including the crew! Greaaat! The crew was all about a good time. Great boat. Beautiful sites. And great pictures!😁
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are so glad that y’all enjoyed the sunset cruise and sincerely appreciate the great review! Glad that y’all got some great pictures!
star-5
Beautiful cruise. The...
Ashley_B
, Jul 2022
Beautiful cruise. The people was friendly and will tell you stories about Charleston South Carolina.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Ashley, we are so glad that you enjoyed the sunset cruise! Thank you for the great review!
star-5
Victor and JP were great....
Tim_D
, Jul 2022
Victor and JP were great. They were entertaining and knowledgeable. Water was a little rough due to the wind but JP did a nice job keeping the boat steady
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Tim, we are so glad that you enjoyed the sunset cruise, Victor and Captain JP. Thank you for the great review!
star-5
Sunset
JodyBreaud
, Jul 2022
The scenery and sunset were spectacular. The colors and stillness of the clouds and the reflection on the water during sunset appeared awe-inspiring. While there was not much narrating, it was informative and quite humorous.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Jody, thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are so glad that y’all enjoyed the sunset cruise and that you got to experience a spectacular sunset on the water. This cruise by design, is not intended to be a narrated tour but more of a relaxing, laid back trip to enjoy the sights and sounds of being on the Charleston Harbor. Thanks again!
star-4
Enjoyable Time
Quentrece_S
, Jul 2022
The cruise was fun. The captain sounded muffled and it seemed he spoke a lot about the rich folks of Charleston, almost too much. The boat was nice and the weather great. We didn’t get a pretty sunset due clouds but it was still enjoyable. Nice way to spend a few hours. They do ask you to arrive 30 minutes before. Looking back, we’d arrive about 10-15 minutes early as there is no restroom available until on the boat & you are just sitting around waiting for 25 minutes.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Quentrece, thank you for the 4 star review! We are glad that your family enjoyed the sunset cruise. We are sorry that you didn’t experience a beautiful Charleston sunset on the water due to the cloudy weather and wish that we had perfect weather everyday for our sunset cruise. The Charleston Maritime Center is owned by the City of Charleston and they close the bathrooms at 6:00pm. We ask folks to arrive 30 minutes before so that we can depart on time. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Charleston! Thanks again.
star-3
One hour too long
Jennifer_B
, Jul 2022
This cruise should be only one hour. There is no comfortable way to lean back and sit so you are sitting with no back for 2 hours. I think it would be perfect for 1 hour. Otherwise it was slightly boring.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Jennifer, we are sorry that the sunset cruise didn’t meet your expectations. We have been in business for over 20 years and this is honestly the first time that we have been told that the trip should be one hour instead of two. The design of the boat is such that it encourages passengers to move about and experience it from many different perspectives. We apologize that you found the seating to be uncomfortable. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Charleston!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise
Likely to Sell Out
Charleston Harbor Sunset Cruise

star-5509

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-4.51726

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.12

star-51143

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.00

star-4.5288

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$38.00

star-5217

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$161.80

star-5227

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$499.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations