Recent Searches

Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise

star-4.551 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 12 more


Explore Cape Town's waterfront, from the central business district to the Victoria and Albert waterfront, with this hop-on hop-off sightseeing cruise. Along the way, listen to commentary on the city's maritime history and hop off at any point you like to explore further. Choose a one-way or round-trip ticket, each valid for a full day, to suit your schedule.
  • Hop-on hop-off canal cruise from the Cape Town central business district to the Victoria and Albert waterfront
  • Guided commentary on board, with headphones to hear the guide clearly
  • Hop off at any stop to explore further
  • Choose one-way or round-trip tickets, both valid all day
Saved to wishlist!
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
Hop-on hop-off canal cruise
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transportation to/from attractions
Any attraction fees

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.
See itinerary

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Cruises are operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • OPERATED BY City Sightseeing South Africa
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise.
What is the policy on sanitization during Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise.
What is the social distancing policy during Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


51 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews
Fun & easy trip through the canal at the V&A Waterfront
, Jun 2022
A fun little trip through the canal by the V & A Waterfront. We started by the aquarium & ended up not too far from our apartment. We had our own headsets provided by the tour to listen about the what we were passing. Great views of Table Mountain & Lion’s Head. While not terribly exciting it was a nice change of pace.
Sunday lazy laid back peaceful
, Jun 2022
Lovely Sunday morning out on the canal boat. Interesting commentry. Friendly staff. Lazy laid back and relaxing. Interesting commentry along the way about the canals.
Birthday cruise
, Apr 2022
It was a good and calm experience. Enjoyed the ride, the driver was smooth. I loved the views of the canal.
Best place in South Africa
, Apr 2022
The trip has been amazing. Staff members were very friendly. Bus drivers were excellent. Cost effective
Cancellation Refund
, Apr 2022
Trips canceled by service provider due to wind, booked with 3rd party. Aviator, sent an email to third party for refund and got no response 😩
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Not completely true! Yes the boat was canceled because of gale force winds. Nothing I can do about nature, sorry. You were informed to request your refund from Viator as you booked your ticket with Viator. You did not book directly with us and neither did you pay us - you paid Viator. There is and was no reason NOT to get your refund (They are actually very good at this) unless you did not log back onto the same supplier you booked with to request the refund from them! So your 1 Star review is totally unjustified as it does not reflect our boat cruise or the booking process but rather your lack of following basic online refund principles
, Apr 2022
The scenery was beautiful the crew were friendly and spoke Afrikaans which made us feel good that they spoke to us in our own home language
Smooth sailing
, Apr 2022
The crew was very nice, friendly and accommodating. It was a smooth sailing. This is a must do when you visit CTN.
Great service I'm impressed
, Apr 2022
Lovely experience, I will bring my family soon. Great service. Looking forward to our return soon. Worth the money
Were a bit early, so had a long wait, but it was really worth it. Friendly staff and a relaxing and beautiful cruise.
, Mar 2022
We have our own little Venice in the heart of Cape Town; water canal with stunning apartments. Loved it
Something new
, Feb 2022
I thought it would be something new to do. Ended up loving it, planning to take the rest of my family
, Jan 2022
I went with my boyfriend and after hours of convincing him to go, he finally caved in. He was so scared at first, but the moment we stepped on the boat, he realized there was nothing to be afraid of and really enjoyed himself. He now wants to go on the Harbour cruise and all other kinds of boat rides. Proud of him pm
Crewmember Kyle, funny...
, Jan 2022
Crewmember Kyle, funny and spontaneous, really an asset to your company! Learned a bit more about my own town.
The perfect Canal Uber
, Jan 2022
It was very interesting to hear the commentary, the view was beautiful and the punctuality and friendliness was astounding. And the fact that you can use the pass for the whole day to operate between the hotel and waterfront is such a bonus.
The canal end to quick
, Dec 2021
The experience was okay but the canal cruise if it can be extended o| the recording be mo exciting as we are frm Inland
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thanks for the feedback. The canal tour is a 25minute cruise and sadly takes you to the end of the canal and back. We can't make the canal any longer.....
The only way to travel
, Dec 2021
Wonderful way to travel between hotel and VA watefront. Great sights of beautiful properties. Wish you could do a multiday pass and that there were more canals to explore :)
Not a good system of booking.
, Oct 2021
I paid for 2 persons and only got 1 sms to download and on this download only 1 ticket was reflected. It caused much embarrassment.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Sorry that you did not like the way Viator sends you your tickets. This with respect is beyond our control. We can only issue boarding passes according to the vouchers you present on the day. All the same, I trust you enjoyed the cruise with us!
, Feb 2020
Was totally unable to find any of the boarding places, the instructions for which were clearly written by someone who has never been to the place. Complete waste of money.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. I have just purchased a ticket which confirms the departure at the V&A Waterfront, next to the Two Oceans Aquarium. We have very clear signage in Red directing you to both the Harbour and canal boats from there. (Our harbour boats are right there with staff on duty) I am sorry you felt it was un-clear but I am not sure how to make that any clearer.
Canal cruise & harbour cruise of the Victoria Waterfront in Cape Town
, Oct 2019
We hopped on the canal boat located behind the Aquarium in downtown Cape Town, boat trip was around 1/2 hr. showcasing all the properties built in and around the canal. You can either stay on to do the full cruise around the canal, or, decide to hop off and then get back on tag a later time. We then hopped on the harbour cruise boat that went around the harbour area showcasing the harbour, buildings built around the harbour, landmarks, etc. Took around 45 minutes to do the whole tour without getting off the boat. Nice trip on a beautiful sunny day!
Recommended, do not forget to pay 30...
, Mar 2018
Recommended, do not forget to pay 30 rands extra and do the harbor cruise too...
3 travelers found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise
Likely to Sell Out
Hop-On Hop-Off Cape Town Canal Cruise


30 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation



7 days 3 hours 53 minutes

Free Cancellation



21 days

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations